What Is The Triple Crown of Motorsport?

The Triple Crown of Motorsport is to win three of the most prestigious motor races in the world. Usually, this means the Monaco Grand Prix, Indianapolis 500, and Le Mans 24 Hours, but some interpretations of the achievement replace the Monaco GP with the F1 Driver’s Championship.

Although to date there have been 17 drivers to have competed in all three components of the Triple Crown and won at least one of them, 1960s legend Graham HIll remains the only one to have won all three regardless of its definition, as twice F1 World Champion and five-time winner of the Monaco GP.

Former F1 driver Juan Pablo Montoya has won the Indy 500 and Monaco GP, and debuts at Le Mans 24 Hours this June, so is close to the Triple Crown. However, F1 champion and Monaco GP winner Fernando Alonso is also keen, having entered the Indy 500 last year and set for Le Mans this summer.

Since 1987, the Indianapolis 500 and Monaco GP have been held on the same day, making it impossible to compete in both in the same year. Thus it unusual for an active F1 driver to be free to challenge the Triple Crown until retirement from the sport, but fortunately McLaren seem supportive of Alonso’s goal.